The Booker Prize for Fiction
2006    The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai
2005    Picador, John Banville
2004    The Line of Beauty, Alan Hollinghurst
2003    Vernon God Little, DBC Pierre
2002    Life of Pi, Yann Martel
2001    True History of the Kelly Gang, Peter Carey
2000    The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood
1999    Disgrace, J.M. Coetzee
1998    Amsterdam, Ian McEwan
1997    The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy
1996    Last Orders, Graham Swift
1995    The Ghost Road, Pat Barker
1994    How Late It Was, How Late, James Kelman
1993    Paddy Clark Ha Ha Ha, Roddy Doyle
1992    The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje
1992    Sacred Hunger, Barry Unsworth
1991    The Famished Road, Ben Okri
1990    Possession, A.S. Byatt
1989    The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro
1988    Oscar and Lucinda, Peter Carey
1987    Moon Tiger, Penelope Lively
1986    The Old Devils, Kingsley Amis
1985    The Bone People, Keri Hulme
1984    Hotel du Lac, Anita Brookner
1983    Life and Times of Michael K, J.M. Coetzee
1982    Schindler's Ark, Thomas Keneally
1981    Midnight's Children, Salman Rushdie
1980    Rites of Passage, William Golding
1979    Offshore, Penelope Fitzgerald
1978    The Sea, The Sea, Iris Murdoch
1977    Staying On, Paul Scott
1976    Saville, David Story
1975    Heat and Dust, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1974    The Conservationist, Nadine Gordimer
1974    Holiday, Stanley Middleton
1973    The Seige of Krishnapur, J.G. Farrell
1972    G, John Berger
1971    In A Free State, V.S. Naipaul
1970    The Elected member, Bernice Rubens
1969    Something to Answer For, P.H. Newby