The National Book Critics Circle Fiction Award
2003    The Known World, Edward Jones
2002    Atonement, Ian McEwan
2001    Austerlitz, Winfried Georg Sebald
2000    Being Dead, Jim Crace
1999    Motherless Brooklyn, Jonathan Lethem
1998    The Love of a Good Woman, Alice Munro
1997    The Blue Flower, Penelope Fitzgerald
1996    Women in Their Beds, Gina Berriault
1995    Mrs. Ted Bliss, Stanley Elkin
1994    The Stone Diaries, Carol Shields
1993    A lesson Before Dying, Ernest J. Gaines
1992    All the pretty Horses, Cormac McCarthy
1991    A thousand Acres, Jane Smiley
1990    Rabbit at Rest, John Updike
1989    Billy Bathgate, E. L. Doctorow
1988    The Middleman and Other Stories, Bharati Mukherjee
1987    The Counterlife, Philip Roth
1986    Kate Vaiden, Reynolds Price
1985    The Accidental Tourist, Anne Tyler
1984    Love Medicine, Louise Erdrich
1983    Ironweed, William Kennedy
1982    George Mills, Stanley Elkin
1981    Rabbit is Rich, John Updike
1980    The Transit of Venus, Shirley Hazzard
1979    The Year of the French, Thomas Flanigan
1978    The Stories of John Cleever, John Cleever
1977    Song of Solomon, Toni Morrison
1976    October Light, John Gardnet
1975    Ragtime, E. L. Doctorow