The Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Mystery Novel
2004    Resurrection Men, Ian Rankin
2003    Winter and Night, S. J. Rozan
2002    Silent Joe, T. Jefferson Parker
2001    The Bottoms, Joe R. Lansdale
2000    Bones, Jan Burke
1999    Mr. White's Confession, Robert Clark
1998    Cimarron Rose, James Lee Burke
1997    The Chatham School Affair, Thomas A. Cook
1996    Come to Grief, Dick Francis
1995    The Red Scream, Mary Willis Walker
1994    The Sculptress, Minette Walters
1993    Bootlegger's Daughter, Margaret Maron
1992    A Dance at the Slaughterhouse, Lawrence Block
1991    New Orleans Mourning, Julie Smith
1990    Black Cherry Blues, James Lee Burke
1989    The Cold Red Sunrise, Stuart M. Kaminsky
1988    Old Bones, Aaron Elkins
1987    A Dark-adapted Eye, Barbara Vine
1986    The Suspect, L. R. Wright
1985    Briarpatch, Ross Thomas
1984    La Brava, Elmore Leonard
1983    Billingsgate Shoal, Rick Boyer
1982    Peregrine, William Bayer
1981    Whip Hand, Dick Francis
1980    The Rheingold Route, Arthur Mailing
1979    The Eye of the Needle, Ken Follett
1978    Catch Me: Kill Me, William H. Hallahan
1977    Promised Land, Robert B. Parker
1976    Hopscotch, Brian Garfield
1975    Peter's Pence, Jon Cleary
1974    Dance Hall of the Dead, Tony Hillerman
1973    The Lingala Code, Warren Kiefer
1972    The Day of the Jackal, Frederick Forsyth
1971    The Laughing Policeman, Maj Siowall and Per Wahloo
1970    Forfeit, Dick Francis
1969    A Case of Need, Jeffrey Hudson
1968    God Save the Mark, Donald E. Westlake
1967    The King of the Rainy Country, Nicolas Freeling
1966    The Quiller Memorandum, Adam Hall
1965    The Spy Who Came In from the Cold, John Le Carré
1964    The Light of Day, Eric Ambler
1963    Death and the Joyful Woman, Ellis Peters
1962    Gideon's Fire, J.J. Marric
1961    The Progress of a Crime, Julian Symons
1960    The Hours Before Dawn, Celia Fremlin
1959    The Eighth Circle, Stanley Ellin
1958    Room to Swing, Ed Lacy
1957    A Dream of Poison, Charlotte Armstrong
1956    Beast in View, Margaret Miller
1955    The Long Goodbye, Raymond Chandler
1954    Beat Not the Bones, Charlotte Jay