The Whitbread Award for the Best British Novel
2004    Small Island, Andrea Levy
2003    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Mark Haddon
2002    Samuel Pepys: The Unequalled Self, Claire Tomalin
2001    The Amber Spyglass, Philip Pullman
2000    English Passengers, Matthew Kneale
1999    Music and Silence, Rose Termain
1998    Leading the Cheers, Justin Cartright
1997    Quarantine, Jim Crace
1996    Every Man for Himself, Beryl Bainbridge
1995    The Moor's Last Sigh, Salman Rushdie
1994    Felicia's Journey, William Trevor
1993    Theory of War, Joan Brady
1992    Poor Things, Alasdair Gray
1991    The Queen of the Tambourine, Jane Gardam
1990    Hopeful Monsters, Nicholas Mosley
1989    The Chymical Wedding, Lindsay Clarke
1988    The Satanic Verses, Salman Rushdie
1987    The Child in Time, Ian McEwan
1986    An Artst of the Floating World, Kazuo Ishiguro
1985    Hawksmoor, Peter Ackroyd
1984    Kruger's Alp, Christopher Hope
1983    Fools of Fortune, William Trevor
1982    Young Shoulders, John Wain
1981    Silver's City, Maurice Leitch
1980    How Far Can You Go?, David Lodge
1979    The Old Jest, Jennifer Johnson
1978    Picture Palace, Paul Theroux
1977    Injury Time, Beryl Bainbridge
1976    The Children of Dynmouth, William Trevor
1975    Docherty, William McIlvanney
1974    The Sacred & Profane Love Machine, Iris Murdoch
1973    The Chip-Chip Gatherers, Shiva Naipaul
1972    The Bird of Night, Susan Hill
1971    The Destiny Waltz, Gerda Charles