The Man of Property
Volume 1 of The Forsyte Saga
by John Galsworthy

Table of Contents


    Part One

  1. ‘At Home’ at Old Jolyon’s
  2. Old Jolyon Goes to the Opera
  3. In Swithin’s dining-room.
  4. Projection of the House
  5. A Forsyte Menage
  6. James at Large
  7. Old Jolyon’s Peccadillo
  8. Plans of the House
  9. Death of Aunt Ann

    Part Two

  1. Progress of the House
  2. June’s Treat
  3. Drive with Swithin
  4. James goes to see for himself
  5. Soames and Bosinney Correspond
  6. Old Jolyon at the Zoo
  7. Afternoon at Timothy’s
  8. Dance at Roger’s
  9. Evening at Richmond
  10. Diagnosis of A Forsyte
  11. Bosinney on Parole
  12. June Pays Some Calls
  13. Perfection of the House
  14. Soames Sits on the Stairs

    Part Three

  1. Mrs. Macander’s Evidence
  2. Night in the Park
  3. Meeting at the Botanical
  4. Voyage Into the Inferno
  5. The Trial
  6. Soames Breaks the News
  7. June’s Victory
  8. Bosinney’s Departure
  9. Irene’s Return